Peter Reavy

Liberal cinema

Posted in films by Peter Reavy on March 29, 2007

This archived Tyler Cowan article examines the damage done to the French film industry by protectionism. It seems very likely that he is correct. One snippet of hope:

Eric Rohmer, the French director of such popular art house comedies as My Night at Maud’s and Claire’s Knee […] perceives Hollywood as a danger, but he is not a cultural protectionist. As he told The New York Times, “I say to people, `I am a commercial film maker’….I am not supported by the state; I am for free competition.”

There aren’t many like him.

I liked Rohmer’s film, The Lady and the Duke. It was controversial in France since it was set during, but sceptical of, the Revolution.

Leave a Reply

