Peter Reavy

Haydn Symphony No. 13

Posted in internet, music, radio by Peter Reavy on February 13, 2009

Radio 3 have been playing their way through all of Haydn’s symphonies, 2 a week, since the start of the year. Thanks to the iPlayer I have been able to listen to them as long as I remember to do it in less than 7 days.

Today they had his 13th symphony played by the Bolzano Haydn Orchestra. The presenter said it was the conductor’s only Haydn recording, an LP that had never been reissued. He was a pupil of Respighi named Antonio Pedrotti. Not very surprising that I had not heard of it.

This morning I got an email from the Gramophone magazine promoting their new website, which claims to be a complete archive that goes back to 1923. It looks great. Anyway, this afternoon I searched for “Pedrotti Haydn” and immediately found my way to this review of the exact LP from when it was released in 1967. Hard not to be impressed.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. artstage said, on April 28, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    This was no coincident at all!? Ofcourse I like the 13th, but my absolute favorite is the 16th (and the 1st movement of the 35th, and …..). Especially the Cello solo in the 2nd movement, the “Andante…”
    Seems that you got the Haydn-virus by radio?

    Maybe you’ll enjoy a visit on my Haydn-anniversary-blog: http://haydn2009.wordpress.com

    greetings from “Haydn-land” (Eisenstadt, Austria);-)

  2. Peter Reavy said, on April 28, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    Taking a look at your blog now. I’m very pleased I was paid a visit by someone from someone from Eisenstadt and must listen to the 16th again. Thanks for the comment.


Leave a Reply

